Joint Transportation Review Committee

SENATOR LAWRENCE K. GROOMS

REPRESENTATIVE JAMES H. LUCAS VICE CHAIRMAN

SENATOR HUGH K. LEATHERMAN, SR. SENATOR CHAUNCEY K. GREGORY SENATOR HARVEY S. PEELER SENATOR GERALD MALLOY REPRESENTATIVE DEBORAH A. LONG REPRESENTATIVE PHILLIP D. OWENS MR. REID BANKS MR. PATTERSON SMITH



DAVID J. OWENS RESEARCH DIRECTOR

KENNETH M. MOFFITT

RICHARD P. FULMER
HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES COUNSEL

LILY COGDILL
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT

1101 PENDLETON STREET · SUITE 203 P.O. BOX 142 · COLUMBIA, S.C. 29202 STRANSCOMM@SCSENATE.GOV · 803-212-6400

MEMORANDUM

Date: February 3, 2014

To: Members of the Senate and House, Interested Parties

From: David Owens

Re: SCDOT Commission letters of intent

The following individuals have notified the Joint Transportation Review Committee (JTRC) that they intend to apply and be screened for consideration of election to the South Carolina Department of Transportation Commission:

3rd Congressional District

Mr. Ray Gunnells - Honea Path

Mr. William M. Lowrish - Edgefield

Dr. Harry C. Stille - Due West

Mr. Charles A. Wham, Sr. - Anderson

Applications have been sent to these individuals and must be completed and returned not later than noon on Monday, February 24, 2014. Once applications have been received, the JTRC will begin the screening process to determine whether each applicant meets the requirements provided by law to serve on the Commission.

The screening process includes an investigation and a public hearing conducted by the ten-member JTRC and its staff. Applicants must complete a comprehensive personal data questionnaire, a financial disclosure, and a South Carolina Ethics Commission Statement of Economic Interests form. A credit check and a South Carolina Law Enforcement Division background check is also conducted.

Only individuals found qualified by the JTRC may stand for election. One commissioner from the district will be elected by those members of the General Assembly who reside in the 3rd Congressional district.

The election is to fill an unexpired term. The term ends on February 15, 2016.